hartlepool history logo

Blacketts Hill Carter Dovecot


Details about Blacketts Hill Carter Dovecot

The department store was opened on the corner of Church Street and Whitby Street by Carter and Company of Stockton and West Hartlepool. In 1898, Carter joined business with Denis Hill and Company of North Shields and Newcastle who had originally made clothes for seamen. D Hill, Carter and Company then expanded the business to include upholstery and drapery departments.

At some point around the second world war, Blacketts took over the store and also owned shops in Barnard Castle, Bishop Auckland, Stockton and Sunderland. Much like Robinson's, Blacketts was known for its Christmas Toy Fair which for a few years was held in the disused Lex Cinema. In 1970 the Blacketts store closed and in an era before 'pound shops' became the discount Dovecot Salerooms looking and feeling nothing like the original department store.

In 1997, the building was extensively refurbished as a hotel and bar and given its original name as The Hill Carter Hotel. The hotel boasts a large rooftop restaurant with panoramic views around the area.


Location



Related items :